Our Disabilities – 1

Each of us is special. We are skilled in some things, maybe even gifted. It could be something insignificant or generally taken for granted.  For instance, I have a special gift for putting people at ease. But I recently saw an Indian movie called Taare Zameen Par (Stars on the Earth) about a dyslexic child called Ishan, which set me wondering whether each of us also does not have a special disability, which too could be insignificant or generally taken for granted.

The child in the movie is normal, like any other, but suffers from a learning disability called dyslexia about which there is little awareness among ordinary people – be it teachers, parents or the commuity. As a consequence, Ishan gets little understanding when he fails to live up to ‘normal’ standards. I have been so deeply affected by the movie and its message that I have made up my mind to start a magazine to create awareness about little known facts about disabilities, the problems the disabled of all kinds face and the solutions that exist. The magazine would also act as a network for the unique communities of people with similar difficulties to keep in touch and learn from each other and support each other. But that’s another story. This post is not about the magazine. It’s about this thought that occurred to me – aren’t each of us disabled in some way, in a way which we ourselves may not know or understand? More on this tomorrow.

This entry was posted in campaigns, Humanity, life, Mass movements, new world, Thoughts by kshama. Bookmark the permalink.

About kshama

I'm a writer of stories - for the young and the old, for children and adults. I write fiction and non-fiction: novels, essays, short stories... I also research on a subject very close to my heart: the education of the under-privileged. The output of some of my work - stories, novels and essays - is available at http://revathikumaran.wordpress.com I also blog at https://kshama.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

