THE MESS THAT’S THE MIND, AND MEDITATION

In my blog thus far I’ve been talking about individuals’ lives in an every day world, the emotional cauldron they fall into the moment they wake up.

How do we retain our goodness or reclaim it, become nicer, more compassionate human beings if we’re bombarded by negative or undesirable thoughts, emotions and events from all sides?

In my last post I said that it might help to confront these thoughts and emotions, recognize them for what they are and then work them out of our system or do whatever is necessary to alleviate them.

I’m no neuroscientist, but the following thoughts, I think, have more to do with common sense than any science as such:

The GIGO (garbage in garbage out) syndrome applies to the mind as much as our desktops. We are bombarded day in and day out with so many sentiments, emotions and feelings that there is little time to think each one through. Result: accumulated sensations that, not finding release, keep swimming there in our subconscious. I guess this is what ends up causing psychosomatic disorders, such as stress, or worse.

Just as I’m not a neuroscientist, I’m not a meditation guru either. But I have found a certain kind of meditation or mental exercise restful and helpful to empty the garbage from my mind. It doesn’t involve longwinded prayers or mantra intonations. All it needs is for one to set aside 10 or 15 minutes a day for emptying the mind of accumulated, incomplete thoughts.

I first ensure that it’s that time of the day when I can be left undisturbed for at least half an hour. Then, I settle on a comfortable chair, in a comfortable room, in a comfortable position. I tell myself that I shall meditate that day for anywhere between 10 minutes and 20 minutes, depending on other things lined up for the day. Then, I close my eyes and think of something pleasant and neutral: A walk on the beach, a forest scene, a kingfisher, anything.

I tether my mind to that pleasant scene and let my thoughts wander. Every time my thoughts are pulled back, it comes back to the pleasant scene. Then again my thoughts wander. There’s nothing enforced. The thoughts are allowed to roam free, and come back to the starting point when they are done. I just give my mind the freedom to roam, without restriction, for those few minutes every day.

I’ve found this process of making my mind less messy has helped me by making it easier for others to live with me and for me to accept others. It has also made it easier for me to live with myself!

So, we have one more rule for the Blue Movement: Unclutter the mind. Empty the garbage so that there’s room for better things.

This entry was posted in life, new world, Uncategorized by kshama. Bookmark the permalink.

About kshama

I'm a writer of stories - for the young and the old, for children and adults. I write fiction and non-fiction: novels, essays, short stories... I also research on a subject very close to my heart: the education of the under-privileged. The output of some of my work - stories, novels and essays - is available at http://revathikumaran.wordpress.com I also blog at https://kshama.wordpress.com

One thought on “THE MESS THAT’S THE MIND, AND MEDITATION

  1. Pingback: Anonymous

Leave a Reply

